2019 Season Information

The 2019 rugby season officially starts in April and ends in August.

 

Saturday Games Times are as follows:

  • U6 – 8:30am
  • U7 and U8 – 9:15am
  • U9 & U10 – 10:15am
  • U11 to U13* – 11:30am  *NB: that last games are at 11:30am but for the U13’s, games can be always scheduled for 1pm – if necessary. U13 games may be scheduled up to 1pm depending on the Auckland Rugby Union Draw.

NB: COMPULSORY AUCKLAND RUGBY WEIGH IN SESSION TO BE HELD AT SHORE ROAD CLUBROOMS FOR ALL U8-U13 PLAYERS. 

Four sessions only and they are no longer run by the Club – they are run by Auckland Rugby officials.  No weigh-in, no play. 

– Sunday 24 February 11:30am – 1pm 

– Saturday 9 March 11:30am – 1pm 

– Thursday 14 March 4:45pm – 6pm 

– Tuesday 19  March 4:45pm – 6pm

OTHER IMPORTANT DATES FOR THE SEASON:

  • Registrations open – 21 January 2019
  • Rippa Rugby Fun Day –  Sunday 10 March 9am – 12 Noon (Under 6 & Under 7 only)
  • Pre-season training  – as agreed with individual Coaches
  • Club day – Saturday 6 April 2019 – Shore Rd Reserve – ALL Club players to attend
  • Coaching and Refereeing Courses – https://www.grammarjuniors.org.nz/coaching-referee-courses/
  • Coaches, Managers, Referees function – Thursday 11 April 7:30pm – Shore Rd Clubrooms
  • U9- U11 Girls Rippa Rugby launch – Saturday 4 May
  • Rugby Season commences – Saturday 4 May
  • City versus Country Challenge Shield (vs Bombay) – Date yet to be confirmed, this year hosted at Bombay
  • Team Photos – Tue 18, Wed 19, Thur 20 June
  • Battle of the Bridge (Grammar Juniors versus North Harbour Marist) – Date yet to be confirmed, this year hosted at North Harbour
  • Grammar Juniors vs Pakuranga Shield Challenge – Date yet to be confirmed, this year hosted at Pakuranga
  • Annual club dinner – Saturday 22 June – Ampersand Eatery
  • Season finishes  – Saturday August 24
  • End of season Prizegiving function – Sunday 25 August 4pm Grammar TEC clubrooms (36 Reihana St, Orakei)
  • Junior Rugby Finals Day (U12 & U13) – Saturday 14 September
  • Taupo Tournament – 19 – 22 September
  • Queenstown Tournament – 27 – 29 September
  • Grammar Juniors AGM – tbc